We are pleased to announce that Benjamin Gucciardi of Oakland, California, has been awarded the Five Points 2021–2021 James Dickey Prize for Poetry. His work will be published in Vol. 21, no. 2, and he will receive $1000.

Benjamin Gucciardi’s first book, West Portal, (University of Utah Press, 2021), was selected by Gabrielle Calvocoressi for the Agha Shahid Ali Prize in Poetry. He is also the author of the chapbooks Timeless Tips for Simple Sabotage (Quarterly West, 2021), winner of the 2020 Quarterly West Chapbook contest, and I Ask My Sister’s Ghost (DIAGRAM/New Michigan Press, 2020). His poems have appeared in outlets such as AGNIAlaska Quarterly ReviewBest New PoetsHarvard ReviewOrion Magazine, and Poetry Daily. In addition to writing, he works with newcomer youth in Oakland.

Each year we select a poet to receive The James Dickey Prize for Poetry. The award is named in honor of James Dickey, who we are proud to say served on our Advisory Board. Dickey inspired and nurtured many poets, and we offer the award in his spirit. The contest winner receives $1,000, and the winning poems are published in an issue of Five Points.

Every year, submissions are accepted electronically September 1 through December 1. We do not accept manuscripts for consideration sent via the post office or special carrier.



    • Send three previously unpublished poems no more than fifty lines each.
    • Make sure your file is in ONE of the following formats:
    • .PDF (Adobe Acrobat)
    • .DOC or .DOCX (Microsoft Word)
    • Entry fee includes a one-year subscription
    • The winner will be announced on the Five Points website.


    • Susan Ludvigson
    • Benjamin Busch
    • Kevin Cantwell
    • Andrea Carter Brown
    • Lucas Howell
    • Susan Wood
    • Christopher Buckley
    • Debra Nystrom
    • Richard Tillinghast
    • Anne Marie Macari
    • Robert Wrigley
    • Ann Townsend
    • Barbara Hamby
    • Kim Addonizio
    • Kate Daniels
    • A.E. Stallings
    • David Kirby
    • Michael McFee